Shop update and a few tidbits of advice…

Today’s post is all about my online shop. I just did an update today in the shibori ribbon category. Making handmade gifts for giving is a lovely way to share a little of yourself when celebrating the holidays, but one must get started! Here is a little gallery of colors I added today and a link to the shop. There are many more colors there than these but these are just the newer ones.

These two colorways were inspired by paua shell. I’m working on a sample brooch piece -still undecided if I like my design (I usually don’t at this stage) but love the ribbon and shells. There are only 10 yards of each of these colors. I acquired a box of these shells from a friend who was selling them for his dad. So pretty! I may put some of them in the shop if there are any requests now or later when I get a sample done. I really can’t stop looking at them!

I also had a request of a kit for something I had made in the past so am adding this as a kit to the shop as well. You can pick your colors from the ribbon that is in stock in the shop. The instructions will come in the form of a brief PDF and a video link. Easier to show in a video than in a bunch of words. The one pictured was made for a custom order ($75) or the kit can be ordered for $35.

And here is a little slideshow of inspiration for using my silk shibori ribbon.

If you are looking for a special something else handmade, these are still available….

And now a few words about selling online…
I am often asked for advice about selling online and also about online selling platforms. I think those of us who have been doing it a long time could write a book. People who make things and sell online are always looking for the “best”, “easiest”, “most profitable”, “effective”, etc. way to do it.
There is no one answer (which seems obvious to me) but people always want definitive answers. I can’t offer one, but the best advice I can give is to remind you that an online selling site is nothing more than a cash register in the sky(cloud). Just like a brick and mortar store (of which I have owned two of in my time), you have to get people in the door. You have to build up a following over time. That following results from good communication, trust, service, interesting content, quality, and value to begin with. All these things take time, over time. There is no rushing this process especially for artists and makers. Sure, there are outliers or trends but in order to sustain over time (40 years here), one needs to look at the long game.
Have faith and persistence. Move forward a little bit each day.
Love to you all…

8 thoughts on “Shop update and a few tidbits of advice…

  1. jklarsonfiberart

    Dear Glennis,
    Oh, how I missed you at the Houston Quilt Show! Yours has been my favorite booth for as long as you have been there.
    Will you be at any other quilt shows, like Road to California in January?
    I am ordering some ribbon, but it is so much better with you there.
    Janet

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. shiborigirl Post author

    Thanks for thinking of me Janet! I sure did miss seeing all my regular customers too! I don’t do the Road show but will likely do the QUilts show in Long Beach in July as a vendor only. They didn’t accept my teaching proposal in Long Beach either but I will definitely do an in studio workshop around that time. It will be posted online and in my newsletter.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.