the day there were 9 kittens and we landed on the moon

It seemed a day where anything was possible and I believed it.

I wonder. A lot. But for today, let’s go back to that day and that feeling.

July 20, 1969. I was 11. We were visiting the U.S. for the first time in 3 years. I was not in Japan on this day, but definitely considered Japan my home.  I was in Gig Harbor, WA.

a moon memory

(i see mistakes in the original post but i choose not to edit or correct it for sentimental reasons-just pointing them out in this post really for my own information and amusement.)

I just saw the Dan Rather post on FB about landing on the moon and was reminded of why I appreciate his eloquent musings and historical perspective.

I often remind myself that we all look up at the same Moon, and that when Nature prospers, so do we.

 

 

13 thoughts on “the day there were 9 kittens and we landed on the moon

  1. snicklefritzin43

    perhaps you have a typo – I was pregnant with my son…hot summer in Seal Beach, California….On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong became the very first man to walk on the moon.

    Your blog and work with shibori has me finally moving to to place of doing some dyeing this year.
    Kristin

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Iridacea

    Great to think of the moon. I was not born till May 1970, so missed the moon landing. How lucky to have clear memories. I am on Whidbey Island right now taking a wonderful class on Eco printing with Irit Dulman, not too far from Gig Harbor. I will look for the moon tomorrow and think of eleven year old you.
    Xo iris

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. shiborigirl Post author

      Ahh Michelle-so many things to consider in 1969. Especially at 26. Rent was $135 a month. A car cost $3200. Vietnam…
      I like imagining you at 26-and all the sage wisdom you have collected and share from that time forward.

      Like

      Reply
  3. beachwalkerca

    I was standing on the sands of the Sahara, in North Africa, binoculars in hand…trying to explain to a bunch of kids in very broken Arabic that there were men up there walking on that moon. Not even fathomable to me let alone them. I cherish that memory! 🌛

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

