pressing on… indigo and other stuff

On this hot and muggy Sunday I finish up a large order of the shibori ribbon and wonder. Often when I wonder about what I am doing I take to the vat and gain some perspective.  Besides, I have a couple of workshops ahead of me here-3 that involve indigo and need some wondering and planning time.

today the natural vat has a good coppery sheen but little flower. however, it is dyeing well

today the natural vat has a good coppery sheen but little flower. however, it is dyeing well

Starting off with some moons on old tattered asa (hemp) from Japan got me thinking about what ties us all together on this little planet we named Earth – as well as what tears us apart. 

tattered moon- somedays i feel just like this and am in need of a little mending

tattered moon- somedays i feel just like this and am in need of a little mending

I figure I need to order 30 yards of cotton scrim for my workshop in Houston October 26- done and crossed off the list.  The rest of the fabrics to be used are remnants and scraps I have been collecting of some very lovely old and reused fabrics brought back from Japan.  We will dye them in indigo and apply different techniques- shibori mostly, as well as use our imagination before stitching them to the indigo dyed scrim.  Kits will also include swatches of vintage kasuri, katazome, and shibori.  I will have several very nice vintage boro textiles on display for students to study as well as a selection of books and photos from my recent visit to the Amuse Boro Museum in Asakusa, Japan.

workshops start with me creating a new sample- even if I have taught the class before- I want to be very familiar with it and add to previous knowledge I  taught this class at the JANM over a year ago

workshops start with me creating a new sample- even if I have taught the class before- I want to be very familiar with it and add to previous knowledge
I taught this class at the JANM over a year ago

Pressing on, I make my sample by my own hand, I cut the fabrics, collect the swatches.  As I dye the new sample I think about the room that I will be teaching in, the number of students, the problems that will be encountered by restrictions of such a setting and must be solved before anyone walks through the door to make things go smoothly and find success for all who gather that day in that room. I aim for a version of perfection knowing full well that there will be less than that achieved but aiming high is where I like to begin.  I am already looking forward to teaching this class and its myriad lessons.

My class is called Indigo dyed and Boro Stitched and can be signed up for by going to the Quilts Inc. site for the Houston International Quilt Festival.  The class is # 117  on Monday Oct. 26, 2015 in the online catalog.

I am teaching two other classes there as well- Shibori Mandala Magic on Silk (class #217) and Splendid Silk Shibori Poinsettias (class # 611).
The Mandala class is an outcome of working with Richard Carbin and combines the folding techniques I learned from him with a completely different method of resisting and applying the dyes.
Richard’s presence will be felt in the vintage silk fabrics we will use which were collected by and purchased from him.

The Silk Shibori Poinsettia class is a fun Friday evening class- a good sit down and relax class at the end of a busy week.  Many lovely pieces are sure to be made as gifts for friends and family on this night.
poinsettia

I tried to upload an image of a great little boro piece I brought back from Japan but WP is being fussy right now so it will have to wait until later.  Until then, I’ll add a couple of photos of something I made the other day just to satisfy a need I had-a small bag that snaps open by pinching the sides and holds all I need. I used some obishin between the cloth layers.

It’s raining again now- hardly can believe it! It has been such a gift.  I have somewhere I’m supposed to be so until later-

mata ne!

9 thoughts on “pressing on… indigo and other stuff

  1. nancydas

    I would so love to be in that indigo class with you in Houston. However it’s not in my path for now. One day I hope to learn from you ( in person) . Peace Nancy

    Sent from my iPadili8

    >

    Like

    Reply
  2. maclives

    love your post today as you busy yourself prepping for Houston – good luck with your classes! I loved Jude’s comment above about the tattered moon as this afternoon I tried to catch up on her blog postings – have been a dilettante with my blog readings – my connection to the world of people I love – and Jude was talking about moons you had provided for her – the piece she did for your booth a while ago and her own moons in her wonderful pieces…looks like there are all kinds of connections – a good ones tool Love that lovely little purse – holder of important papers – wonderful, love the different types of dyeing present in those fabrics used. lots of talent going on there – like finding tiny hidden treasures…
    namaste
    ant

    Like

    Reply
  3. Susan

    Looks absolutely fabulous! Wish I could be there to see it! So much work and effort that goes into your workshops…they will go beyond well. Absolutely. Just get your rest too!

    Like

    Reply
  4. janicezindel

    Wonderful blog post, and much to think about. I, too, would love to take that class in Houston, but that is not possible. You are always an inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Betty

    Thanks for this post. I often find myself in a stream of thought while creating too! Love your beautiful work. I know it is the result of aiming high.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

