dragonflies 屯簿

The making of this shibori ribbon dragonfly came as a result of a dream I had. The dream involved a family member who transformed into a dragonfly and came to tell me of his future plans. Over the next several days, dragonflies kept appearing in various forms- to the point that I had to notice. Sitting down working on some ribbon flowers it occurred to me to make a butterfly, then of course, the dragonfly. Since then, dragonflies have continued to appear in some very interesting ways. One particular event still has me wondering. I’m not trying to understand it all, I’m just paying attention.

Wondering what dragonfly lore existed, I did a little googling. I found lots of references and among them stories and beliefs that the dragonfly represents an agent of change, of wisdom and enlightenment. I also read of how the iridescent wings of a dragonfly- which allow it to be seen in different colors depending on the angle and polarization of light falling on them-are symbolic of casting off one’s self illusions and unmasking the real self (whom of us couldn’t use a little of that?). In other words, it’s a flight of real self-discovery. Also the dragonfly’s relationship to water interests me.

Recently while I was away surrounded by nature, a nearby lake, and many, many dragonflies- I made some more and perfected my methods. I even wrote up some instructions and photographed the steps.
So today, I have 3 new items in the shop:

~several handmade dragonfly pins in a variety of colors ($24 ea and includes the instruction download as a gift)

~a kit for you to make your own ($12 includes the instructions as a downloadable PDF)

~or just the instructions as a downloadable PDF for those of your who have your own supplies ($5)

They are fun, fairly simple and once you make one, I bet you’ll make another…

and now i’m wondering what one would look like in indigo…

5 thoughts on “dragonflies 屯簿

  1. Linda Mead Moore

    I love this! There seems to be a spiritual significance to most all of nature; feathers-especially white, birds, as you mention, dragonflies, butterflies.
    Linda M.M.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

