Indigo children and thoughts beyond

Things have begun germinating here and children are sprouting up all over. It has been hellishly hot lately and I’m trying to be careful not to let them get dehydrated:

indigo children-shiborigirl style

indigo children-shiborigirl style

Ideas germinate as well and indigo thoughts have become viral. More on that later.

Kathleen Fasanella at Fashion Incubator recently posted some definitions (a month ago- I am seriously behind around here!) to some hard to define terms such as “handmade”. She states “hardly anyone knows what this means anymore”. It definitely is a word used broadly and as she defines the term –

“in sewn products, handmade means the item was made by one person start to finish. “

She also states that handmade should be defined by the industry to which it applies. So sensible of course. She broaches the topics and offers detailed descriptions of batching, production, manufacturing, one off, craft, craft production and their relationship to one another. I have her book and have loaned it out to a couple of DIYers thinking they want to start up sewing bizzes of their own. It seemed the least I could do. It had been a while since I had visited her site and it was, as usual, worth the trip.

Seems I have had an appetite lately for more understanding as I work hard towards the upcoming show- Quilt Festival Long Beach. Right in my own backyard. It could hardly get any better. Well, I guess it could if booth costs weren’t continually on the rise as well as all the associated costs. I’m doing a bit of an experiment here. Seeing just how low I can go.
So far- 1/2 booth ( only the second time I have done that in over 30 years of shows!), not ordering any lights or electricity (so far-we’ll see how that goes!) and putting off ordering any steel until I get there and determine my options. Maximizing profit. Keeping things simple. Focusing on the sale and the interaction with the customer. Listening.

Here’s a little preview of some of what’s been happening around here-

itajime shibori indigo virus on silk organza

itajime shibori indigo virus on silk organza

shibori ribbon- to inspire and create!

shibori ribbon- to inspire and create!

indigo silk cording

indigo silk cording

indigo cording and silver beads

indigo cording and silver beads

indigo ombre practice-cotton

indigo ombre practice-cotton

flow of silk cording

flow of silk cording

4 thoughts on “Indigo children and thoughts beyond

  1. Nadine

    Ooohhh–I have a giant lampwork bead that needs that silk cording so I can make a necklace out of it like you’ve done with the indigo cording! I’ve been hoarding this bead for years, waiting for the perfect presentation idea! Will you be putting any of that in the etsy shop?

    That silk organza is stunning, as is everything else!

    Like

    Reply
    1. shiborigirl Post author

      Thanks-yes, i will put some up after the show. i used some of it for my own hoard of special lampwork beads from the likes of Donna Conklin and Harlan Glass. The indigo is my favorite- looks great with silver.

      Like

      Reply

be in touch and wonder~

