Summer Solstice Indigo Love

The word for indigo in Japanese is “ai” which is also the word for love. They share the same sound although each is represented by different kanji (characters).

Roses have long been a symbol of love and here I have “married” both my love for indigo with my love of flowers and especially the rose.
(available in my Etsy shop)

indigo rose

As you know, I have been practicing with my indigo vats and working on achieving both good depth and variation of shades in indigo blue. I am working on getting better at ombre dyeing with indigo. This weekend the vats are performing the best they ever have…perhaps it’s the solstice!
indigo ombre

Happy Father’s Day dad!

4 thoughts on “Summer Solstice Indigo Love

be in touch and wonder~

