From the beginning-in parts-part one

You can’t stay in your corner of the Forest waiting for others to come to you. You have to go to them sometimes.
— Winnie the Pooh

Well, here I am (私は名古屋にいる) . Finally. At the pace I have been going it simply has been too difficult to post to the blog. I’ve been doing a little bit via facebook, twitter and flickr but when I’ve had internet and not been busy I’ve simply been too tired! Only getting 4-5 hours sleep each night anyway so need to at least get that in.

I’m laying in my 4.5 mat room at the Ichifuji Ryokan in Nagoya drinking some green tea, munching on osembe,with the tv on (sumo desu!). If you caught my FB or twitter today you already know that I’m on the “solitary journey aid plan” which is “for the woman who travels alone in Japan”. I thought that was kinda funny-everything has a plan in Japan. I really don’t even know where to start, so much has transpired but I guess the beginning is as good a place as any. Get ready for a MEGA post and perhaps a bit of meandering. I’m sure it will take me days to get it all out but I might just do a brief overview and do more detail when I get back- we’ll just have to see.
I have over 1200 photos and videos to edit and review-I’ve already done the first deletes so what is left will take some time so-
Here goes…..
swine flu welcome!
at Narita after we got through customs and were waiting for a flight from the UK and Chris who joined us from London.
health check
we were held on the plane for a little over an hour (after the 10.5 hr flight) so these folks could go through the plane asking us to fill out some forms which basically asked us if we were healthy- we were. They actually kept track of all of us for the next 10 days (quarantine period) and we were filling out forms at each of the hotels as we moved around Japan. They even brought disposable thermometers to our rooms on the Ginza!
welcoming delegation
Here is our official welcoming delegation- Hirata-san and our coach driver-both indispensable! Hirata-san was with us the entire trip and was the most patient, kind, and wonderful person we could have ever hoped for. More about Hirata and his family later-
fist day in tokyo
this was the view out our (Katrina and myself) hotel window on our first day in Tokyo- kind of ominous, don’t you think? Definitely felt like we had reached the end of the rainbow. I think this was the most vivid rainbow I have ever seen. (None of these photos have been photoshop-ed or cleaned up)
-and just to tease you a little, here is a pic I took today in Arimatsu-more on that later of course!
arimatsu shibori

9 thoughts on “From the beginning-in parts-part one

  1. Mandi

    Be sure to post all of your pictures!!! Are you going to the Itchiku Kubota museum? I’m so jealous! Who is the silk group you’re traveling with?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jess

    ~claps delightedly!~ You, milady, continue to be an inspiration. Fascinating set of pictures at Flickr; I’m sure to be down the rabbit hole of katazome for hours, now. 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
  3. shibori girl

    Thanks for the “teaser”Glennis! It looks like you’ll be mentally processing this trip for a long time to come.

    I’ve enjoyed the little snippets you’ve posted on FB and long to hear more…

    Kate

    Like

    Reply
  4. shiborigirl Post author

    yes-went to the kubota museum. will write on that later. there is no way i can post all the pics- over 1200! am culling them to fit the story. will talk about the silk experience group in the next post-working on it now-

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

