shibori inspiration

Today I spent the day sewing ribbon and recording new video of wired shibori along with writing instructions for the new classes I’m working on.
necklace

At the same time, I was admiring the tulips that were blooming from the bulbs I forced a few weeks ago-
tulip22
Each day they open up wide-almost flat- and close up cup shaped for the evening. Originally pale yellow when they first opened, they have turned darker and acquired an orange frost on the petal edges.

tulip11

I’ve really enjoyed watching the roots through the clear glass vase I grew them in.
roots
The tulip centers have a certain shibori-esq quality to them…
tulip

-which led me to imagine an itajime shibori piece inspired by tulips
itajime-tulip
Next step-base dye some purple/blue silk.

One thought on “shibori inspiration

be in touch and wonder~

