Kimono as Art

I am still lamenting the fact that I didn’t get to see this show when it was in San Diego recently but did find this short video you might enjoy-Ichiku Kubota video.
san-large

The show, Kimono as Art has it’s own website which has a great bio of the master himself along with many other interesting pages. I’m very tempted to order the catalog available in both hardback and soft cover format.
I’m struggling to find time to finish the journey quilt I started a while back. Can’t seem to find the ribbon I dyed up for the border. I’m thinking I’ve changed my mind on the border anyway so just as well. Have to redye and choose a new path. I took the quilt up and stitched on it when I was with my dad and he was feeling better and have found it hard to get back to at the moment. But the baby is getting bigger and has started on his own journey so time to get it done. I really do enjoy stitching on this and the virtual tour of the kimono exhibit has inspired me to get this done.

I don’t know if anyone reading this was planning on also taking the Candace Kling workshop I referred to back a few posts but if you are like me, you have had trouble signing up for this! **UPDATE**
I just received an email from Carpe Diem and emailed them my desire to sign up. I’m taking the “ribbons and trims” class on Friday the 27th. Come on down!

Speaking of getting things done. I’m finishing up the first installment of my wired shibori necklace lesson. It’s still not too late to join- this looks to be a fun group. I’ve had lots of people emailing and asking questions. You should be getting your supply list tomorrow so be on the lookout for it. If you are interested in joining and want to see what it’s all about you can click on the link in the header for classes. Instructions and fun for the 3 week class are only $35 and you must sign up for that. Remember, you can download the instructions and work at your own pace and within your own schedule. Log into the forums to ask questions, see what other students are creating, post pics, get freebies, and just generally have a good time. See you there!

5 thoughts on “Kimono as Art

  1. jude

    boy maybe i should catch this one when it is in ohio. amazing work and i love the oversized scale concept. i got your mistakes today and i was instantly smiling.

    Like

    Reply
  2. neki rivera

    lucky me saw it when it came to Barcelona.
    went with a Japanese friend and that was a spoiler. Japanese think his work sooo very unjapanese and think it’s geared to gaijin. go figure.

    neki desu

    Like

    Reply
  3. Tammie

    That was a wonderful video about the kimonos. I would have loved to see that show. I have an amazing silk kimono that was my grandmothers. It is in unused condition. You remind me that it might be time to sell it, it should be hung on the wall and appreciated daily. All the things you make and share are wonderful. It has been too long since I have visited you!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Sue

    I flew to the show in San Diego and spent the whole day there and then flew home. I highly recommend the book in hardcover, amazon has a good price. The one thing the book doesn’t show well is the progression of one kimomo to the next, it shows some examples but not all 40 some in a U like the show. If you had flyer miles I’d suggest seeing it in Ohio as its that spectacular.

    Like

    Reply
  5. eheupel

    I do highly recommend the catalogue. I have the one from SD and another from an exhibit many years ago. Both are remarkable. His work is the ultimate inspiration for me. I’ll never attain that level of mastery, but it’s what I will aim for.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

