one day at a time

life seems to have slowed down a bit. yet i keep busy and moving along. it’s sunny and warm here in SoCal but my mind keeps returning to this place:
icicles
the sun trying to come out and warm things up but the icicles just kept on growing each night while we slept. there were photos in the paper of icicles that were over 6 feet-starting at the roof lines and going all the way to the ground!

The Road to California show is over and was better than I think everyone expected. The quilters showed up and while a bit cautious, were spending their money on the things they valued. I introduced silk shibori ribbon to many many new people and showed them it’s various applications. The silk shibori flower making class went very well and there were many flowers worn around the show during the four days. I especially enjoyed hearing the stories from people who had purchased before telling me what they had done with it while shopping for more. There were a couple of lovely quilts in the exhibit that had used the ribbon as an embellishment. I didn’t get any photos- never had much time to browse the show as usual but Carolyn has the top winners photographed and available on the website. Some really amazing work. Two of my favorites weren’t winners but my taste in quilts runs to the non traditional and sculptural side of quilting. One, a small quilt was an amazing view of a tidepool created by a gal who has spent lots of time looking at and photographing tidepools with her biologist husband and kids.
I think she bought some silk ribbon for her next creation- to be used as an octopus! Can’t wait to see that! The other favorite was a large (maybe 36 x 48 ) wooded scene completely sculptured in layers of fabrics. I don’t remember the artist but it was amazing. One of the best examples of that technique (what ever you call it-if there is a name for it!) I have ever seen.

My purchases were mainly practical- several pairs of Kai scissors-finally! I got a pair of the serrated scissors which cut beautifully. Also a new thingy to keep my iron cord out of the way- a new and improved version- the original one is horrible and doesn’t last very long under my use-let you know how this one does. Got a new ironing board cover from Measurematic which was sorely needed. Picked up a couple of glass beads for some new wired shibori ribbon necklaces from Harlan. I’ll post some photos when I get a chance. Also got some more of that silk batting from Hobbs– LOVE that stuff. I have more plans for that down the road.

Well, for the moment, I have to get some stuff wrapped up and am planning to return to Eastern WA later this week to see my dad. Hospice is in place and two of my other sisters are there.
I took this photo of him a couple of weeks ago. There is a great little history museum there in Wenatchee that houses this old Wurlitzer from an old theater that use to be down the street. My dad was part of a group of guys that was restoring and rewiring the thing in it’s new home at the museum when he was feeling a bit better. They show old movies there at the museum and the pipe organ is the main attraction. There is also a great display that shows the history of the valley’s apple industry downstairs at the museum.
dad-the-wurlitzer

pipes

wiring

6 thoughts on “one day at a time

  1. coral-seas

    Don’t expect to have full control of your mind while you are going through this.

    I don’t wish to alarm you, only to let you know that some of the things that will make you wonder if you are going crazy are quite normal and part of the process.

    Best wishes
    CA

    Like

    Reply
  2. shiborigirl Post author

    full control? i don’t have that even in the best of times. and crazy? you hit the nail on the head- maybe while i am here i ought to put some of that crazy towards quilting to pass the time…

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

