Houston Quilt Festival

Texas Bob has a great post about the Houston Quilt Festival as well as a list of recommendations which includes the following:

1. Wear sensible shoes.
2. If you expect to see everything, have a plan and a map.
3. Bring your credit card.
4. Leave your husband at home.

Texas Bob describes attending this show from a man’s point of view which is just delightful and humorous and oh so true. It appears he write all kinds of posts about the state of Texas which I will go back and read at a later date- or perhaps on my iphone on that long drive out the 10 and across the lone star state.

I am feeling a little overwhelmed trying to get everything together just the way I want it but working through it bit by bit. Some things will go undone….. Reading this post (written in 2004) made me feel a little more relaxed.

I thought I would put up my schedule here for all of you going to the show and make note of a couple of corrections. If you look me up in the show guide at the show you’ll find me listed under Shibori Studio and not Shibori Girl Studios- they somehow flubbed the name. No matter…you’ll find me.

The show runs Thursday Oct. 30 through Sunday Nov. 2. There is a preview night on Wednesday the 29th from 7-10 PM.

My Make & Take classes:
How to make Silk Shibori Ribbon Flowers

Thursday Oct. 30 Noon – 1PM
AND
Sunday Nov. 2 Noon- 1PM
Cost: $10 -kit included!
Sign up on the show floor- limited to 25 per class

And my Exploring Stitch Resisted Shibori workshop.
Friday Oct. 31 9 am – noon
I believe this class is filled but you may be able to check on any cancellations or classes for sale on the bulletin board located upstairs near the education office.

Grabbed the camera for a quick shot of this silk gauze which came off the pole today. Although the hot dry weather and Santa Ana winds combine to create a perfect fire storm in the canyons and valleys here in Southern California, it is really great for drying silk. As I recall, we were having fires here last year at this time and there was ash dropping from the sky from Long Beach all the way to Arizona as we traveled to Texas! This year it’s to the north west of us with the winds blowing toward the ocean.


(there are a few more on my flickr photostream)

One week to go…….

One thought on “Houston Quilt Festival

be in touch and wonder~

