stop to smell the (shibori) roses……

So much craziness in the news these days. So many people moving fast. I am trying to keep it all in perspective and in balance myself. On the one hand, I am appreciating the changes in the backyard and especially the ripening hachiya persimmons.

They are called hoshigaki in Japanese. (hoshi for dried and gaki (from kaki) for persimmon) i am drying my own in the back yard. I have about 50 to peel and string up this week so they can be drying while I am in Houston…they take from 4-6 weeks to dry. You also have to massage them a couple of times a day. This is part of the balance I am talking about. In all the craziness of getting ready for the Houston show, I must take time each day to pick, peel, string up, and massage my hoshigaki. I have someone hired to do the persimmon massaging while I’m gone!
check out this site below to order some for yourself or for holiday gifts. They are delicious!
www.otoworchard.com/hoshigaki.html

I also attended the Japan America Society’s Kite Festival in Seal Beach on Sunday. It was a beautiful and windy day and the kites were marvelous. More pics on the flicker site.

And then in response to several people who have been asking about buying the flower broaches, I posted up two on the etsy site. These are usually only available at shows or at the select retail stores that I ship to since I just can’t seem to get ahead on them these days….

I have a long “to do” list so must move on to it. And thanks for all the lovely comments on the last post…still working through that.

8 thoughts on “stop to smell the (shibori) roses……

  1. karlita

    so what are the fruits for? Colouring fabric? I discovered your beautiful blog lately while i was searching for shibori (i’m taking a textile arts course and right now we are experimenting with shibori) – so i’ll be a regular! You make gorgeous things!

    Oh, and yes, Marrakech is def. a place you have to put on your list to visit!!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. carol

    I,m thinking about a carreer change. What are the prerequisits for the field of persimmon massaging? Can I practice on… say, plums? I would love to hear how the conversation went when you hired someone to “massage the persimmons”.

    Like

    Reply
  3. shiborigirl Post author

    very funny little sister carol. i would hire you if you were geographically convenient.
    i use the term “hired” loosely here. my house sitter will be in charge of the massaging along with a 10 year old neighbor who was in my art class last year.
    i watched over their house this past summer. and no, i don’t think plums work.
    and karlita-the persimmons are just for fun and eating. visit her blog to see some great pics from her trip to marrakech:
    http://karlitashop.blogspot.com/2008/09/marrakech-part-2-what-to-buy-and-how-to.html

    Like

    Reply
  4. Samira Obeid

    I hope you save some for my mom to bring up to me they sound delicious. That also is one of the most real-looking flowers i’ve seen yet. I ❤ the pearly color and beads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

