love and happiness

The day’s duty always: the thing that lies nearest your hand. It isn’t so much our business to be happy – as it is to do the things we are meant to do.

Love in itself is not joy. It is always service and it may be sacrifice. It means giving not receiving: asking not answering. To give which is needed. – Steadily to set self aside – asking for nothing but its opportunity to help – this is love.”

-Margin note at the back of Concentration: The Secret of Success circa 1912.

This photo is public ©

The above accompanied a photo on flickr some time back, the link to which I can no longer find.
(if you are familiar with this please forward me the link- i’ve searched but can’t find it)

I saved the sentiment though and find that in addition to being a good reminder, understanding the cyclical nature of the way things work is essential. It also made me think of Mother’s Day.

3 thoughts on “love and happiness

  1. cathie

    Hey Shibori! I have an awesome Native American quote on the right side of my blog about the “circular” notion of life. It’s very moving. I love this quote you have here about love – I am going to copy it and send it to my husband.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

