one year, one day at a time

It all started here one year ago. So much thanks to give for all that has transpired this past year. I started this blog with one thing in mind and ended up with so much more. Initially, I viewed it as a place to keep track of what I was doing, sort of like a journal for myself. I was interested in learning this “blog thing” as well. I soon came to discover that this was a learning tool, a teaching tool, and most rewardingly, a community.
I want to say thank you to all of you who visit and especially those who comment, leaving behind inspiration, encouragement, questions and teaching. Most of you I know only online, a few of you I’ve met in person but the beauty of blogging is that we can connect with others around the world to share and learn and discover. I look forward to meeting more of you as I travel this path.
Special thanks to my kids and Phil who are constantly subjected to shibori on a daily basis- it surrounds us here as we all share this house, artists and musicians alike. My special nickname around here is “shibori-head”. Kinda fits, don’t you think?
More thanks to the special people who populate my blogroll, Karren, Jude, Paula, Yoshiko, Juanita, and a few others I’ve been meaning to add but haven’t gotten to yet- Heather, Tricia, Bruce……..you have been invaluable in my education. Not to mention all the blogs I follow as best I can- I’ve appreciated the many points of view.
And then there’s Flickr…..what inspiration! So many folks sharing their worlds through the lens of a camera or the bed of a scanner-wow! Of course there’s the “all things shibori” photo pool on Flickr. Many thanks to all the participants there and the time you take to post and comment and discuss this thing called shibori. I feel that we are only scratching the surface- there’s so much more to discover.

Thought I’d share the stats I pulled down from WordPress this morning:

    Blog Stats

Total visits: 10,667

Total Views: 28,610

Best Day Ever: 337

Posts: 116

Comments: 250

There are some great new opportunities ahead as well as the trip to Houston for the Quilt Festival at the end of the month.
I’m looking forward to seeing lots of past porcelain button customers and creating new customers for my shibori work. I have a class there to teach on using the shibori ribbon as well as an online class at Joggles coming up.

Color me thankful and grateful all days, but extra on this day. Use the Safesubscribe button in the sidebar and send me your snailmail for a special thank you from shiborigirl!

8 thoughts on “one year, one day at a time

  1. Kristin

    Happy Blogiversary! The inspiration goes both ways — you may be gettinga lot from the logging community, but you give back much too. I loved seeing what you did with the school kids, and your fabrics and ribbons always knock my socks off!

    Like

    Reply
  2. jude

    oh my and i haven’t even mailed your gift yet…, another better reason to get off my butt. happy one year and many more. i think i will do (try) some overdo shibori in your honor.

    Like

    Reply
  3. hrsj

    congratulations on one year glennis! I agree with you in that I began blogging for the same reasons as you, a kind of journal and process documentation. I never dreamed I’d find a “community” here. It is a lovely and inspiring thing to connect with other people and other artists expanding a network. Thanks for sharing your work!

    Like

    Reply
  4. juanita sim

    Congratulations Glennis, it’s been a colourful year 😉 I always enjoy my visits to your blog, there’s great inspiration, fabulous colours and textures, and your generous heart. Cheers!

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

