on teaching

I have accumulated a number of half-written posts saved as drafts and since I haven’t posted in a few days I guess there’s no time like the present to kick a couple of them out into public view. Often when I am reading, researching, learning on the net I will save something for later that inspires me to write a post. I can’t even remember how I came across this but I liked what Paula Nadelstern had to say about teaching.
I’m thinking ahead to Mondays in September…

I have not written about my day a few weeks ago at the Long Beach Arts Tune-up. The format was kind of like speed dating for artists. 15-20 minute roundtable discussions on a variety of topics geared toward artists. I went to discover what was being done by organizations in regards to art in the LBUSD (our local school district). The LBUSD continues to refuse to participate in the Arts for All program and the current strategy as stated by the presenter from LA County is to surround LBUSD with school districts which ARE participating in the hopes that pressure to participate will build from the outside since working with the LBUSD has not worked. There are some good things happening in LA County by CCI which strives to help artist achieve financial independence.
But at the same time I was left feeling a little disillusioned. I wanted more for the artists who attended. Less of the “how to apply for grants” or “how to get free money” attitude that prevailed. Yes, there were some other topics presented. One on marketing for visual artists. I thought, hey!, I’ll give that a listen, I can always use that. The presenter did not bring any of her own marketing samples (I gave her samples of mine to use). She didn’t know anything about blogs (didn’t know what one was!) and asked me to explain it. All in all I felt bad for the group. I just wanted something better for them. I don’t like seeing artists always looking for grant money. I don’t see that as financial independence. I am not saying there isn’t a place for artist grants but geezz… I guess I just don’t get it. I come at this with such a different experience and perspective.

I left feeling like this was a group I didn’t feel connected with and I guess I wasn’t expecting that. Now, enough of this and back to shibori!!!
ribbon-18.jpg ribbon17.jpg

One thought on “on teaching

  1. Rachel

    Hey there, I wanted to say that this complaint really resonated with me! I have come to the crafty arts through a kind of circuitous route and keep expecting to find people, someone, somewhere, talking about the stuff I am trying to learn. I have yet to meet anyone who says they studied marketing in art school. It boggles the mind.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

