the value of making

I was following down a search that was done by someone that led them to my blog and I came across this quote by Eireann on her blog bara and design.
The post is entitled “beauty” .

“I once broke up with someone in part because he didn’t make anything. He didn’t understand the value of making, of materials. He didn’t need to touch things. He didn’t value made things for their innate beauty, the quality of having-been-made.”

I can completely relate to this. If you are a maker, an artist, a musician, it just makes sense to have the most important relationship in your life understand this. Fortunately, mine does.
I realize the only relationships that have worked for me have been those that fit this criteria.
I understand that one of the reasons I teach in the 4th grade room is my fear that our children are losing the value of making. Thanks to many circumstances and people in my life when I was young, I had the opportunity to make things which led to a lifelong career in making. Not everyone wants or has a desire to make things. I guess I just want kids to see the possibilities……and for the value of making to continue to exist.

making.jpg

7 thoughts on “the value of making

  1. Kathy

    Your silk ribbons are beautiful! I am also a teacher and I see how much children love to make things. It’s sad how little of that is done in school today. I haven’t done shibori in a long time, but anticipate doing a little, and including my 2 boys, this summer.

    Like

    Reply
  2. jude

    funny, i am 56 and got married 5 years ago to someone who is always trying to make or invent something. we make different things of course but that’s ok. your point is well noted. i believe that not making things will eventually cause strange or serious illness. or despair. or violence. i could go on…..

    Like

    Reply
  3. hrsj

    I teach in an arts-based preschool program and our program emphasizes process over product. It is so great to see their excitement when making things and how it builds their own inner self-esteem. I also feel that we can be “constructive” or (else we may become) “destructive”.

    Like

    Reply
  4. gochemoche

    My parent were smart, they didnt buy us all the toys we wanted so we made the. I remember making Barbie doll house furniture using everything we had, lego pieces, scrap fabric, the box our house phone came in. I got hooked on creating and using my imagination on daily basis. I hope one day when I have kids I can teach them the same skills 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Karren

    I’ve had supicions that the new DYI movement that is so evident here on the web is from a generation that has just discovered MAKING! Denied art and science labs, their schooling did not including making. So for a species with a unique ability to use tools, this generation has just discovered the joy of making,’ joie de faire’.

    Like

    Reply
  6. shiborigirl Post author

    wow! such great comments. thanks- obviously a subject for further discussion…
    process- so much to learn from a process- kids these days often don’t have this opportunity-when we did the sculptures in the 4th grade class, other teachers kept coming by and saying “what is it- it’s a whale, right?? a whale tail, right?” as if it didn’t make sense if it wasn’t SOMETHING.
    well, it was something. it was a sculpture, but beyond that it was a process where they learned to create something step by step, solving the problems that arose as they created it. discovering as they went. learning to adapt as they went along. building on their knowledge as they progressed. this is what is being lost. art and science are just the vehicles on this journey. take that away and what do we have left? if we don’t reinstate these opportunities who will be there to discover and create innovative solutions to problems we face in the future of our planet?
    -ok, now i’m getting preachy…sorry

    Like

    Reply
  7. Pingback: the value of making …part 2 « Shibori Girl

be in touch and wonder~

