shibori blog stats

Server

I have been tracking hits to this blog for a while now and thought you might find it interesting to see where the interest in shibori comes from in terms of location. This pie chart represents a fairly typical day where 60% of the hits come from the US and 40% from other countries. Some days it is almost 50/50. That being said, I always wonder what the interest is and who is actually visiting the blog. With so few comments in relationship to visitors, I know very little about about you. So I guess this is a request that you leave a comment and say hello, G’day, que tal, konichwa, ola, aloha, bonjour, hallo or whatever works for you. Things I would like to know:
-do you practice shibori now?
-where are you from
-what is your favorite type of shibori to make?
-do you collect shibori?
-do you use shibori textiles to create other things-quilts, apparel, craft items?
-what is the most valuable information you gain from reading this blog?
-anything else you want to ask about shibori…
Often there are 50+ visitors a day with 200+page views so I look forward to hearing about shibori from around the world!

12 thoughts on “shibori blog stats

  1. juanita sim

    Hi Glennis,
    Although you didn’t ask, I learned about your blog when Karren Britto posted about the all things shibori flickr group you started, a place that I like to browse on a regular basis. I practice shibori which I started learning to do last year, and use the fabric in quilts and to make clothing. I have also made some silk scarves. My favourite types of shibori to make are pole wrapped and clamped pieces. I don’t collect shibori. I like to read your blog because you describe quite a few different activities you do related to shibori and that is interesting to me. I also absolutely love the photos you take of your work. To my eye the lines, depth of field and movement in certain ones is very compelling, almost mesmerizing; a bit like looking at the glowing embers of a dying fire.

    Like

    Reply
  2. magnusmog

    Hello, I know nothing about Shibori except what I am learning from your blog ( think I came over via Flickr ). Your work is beautiful and I a really enjoy seeing it . I’m a knitter and love to see what other people make. I live in a small village on the east coast of Scotland.

    Like

    Reply
  3. shiborigirl Post author

    I am enjoying learning a bit more about who is visiting the blog. Several have also emailed me directly, being a bit shy about posting a public comment-sometimes I feel that way too. I have visited Juanita’s blog before…she posted one of my pictures there once. I’m glad you like the photos Juanita- I am discovering photography through the process of photographing my work. Sometimes I like the photographs of a piece more that the piece itself! I see how Tricia Mckellar got into digital shibori.
    I also like how artist/maker blogs connect people and their work even though we are continents and oceans apart! I see we visit several of the same flickr pools and have common contacts such as jude & gunnels.
    Thanks for posting!

    Like

    Reply
  4. shiborigirl Post author

    interestingly, there were 5 different visitors from singapore on the blog today, all staying about 30 minutes or so…. around the same time….anybody want to comment?

    Like

    Reply
  5. Tricia

    Yes, I’ve been very bad about leaving comments on the blogs I read… however, I’m trying to do so… as I’ve started a blog myself and this has made me realise that comments are nice to receive… I came to your site via Jude over at Spirit Cloth… I dye / paint /stamp my own fabric… I also have a vat of indigo sitting just outside my back door… I visit your blog because I love looking at the wonderful photos you post…I also visit Tricia Mckellar her digital shibori is just stunning…

    I promise to leave more comments…

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hope

    I stumbled across your blog from Scout’s blog, seeing that I recognized the word Shibori. I took a seven-week class on dyeing last fall and one of the things we practiced was Shibori. I don’t do it right now, but had a lot of fun learning about it and trying out different techniques on our fabric. I now have a couple of pieces that I would like to turn into wall hangings. I’ll definitely be back to read more. Your work is amazing.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Kristin

    Hi! To answer your questions, I’m a quilter and have dabbled in dyeing my own fabric, but no shibori. I don’t collect shibori, but the more I see the more I love it. Perhaps I should collect it!? Of course, if I had some, I’d want to cut it up to use it in my quilts; but then I’d hate to cut up all that wonderful color and texture. I’ve been mesmerized by your photos — before reading your blog, I was only thinking of shibori in two dimensions — but your work is very three dimensional. It shows off the silk so much. I also hadn’t considered discharging in shibori (why not, I don’t know — if you can be additive, then why not subtractive?). I’m an American (grew up in the San Fernando Valley), but I live in Germany.

    Like

    Reply
  8. shiborigirl Post author

    perhaps you should collect it…and cut it up too! i highly recommend it!
    regarding discharging…i learned that from Karren Brito and her book on shibori on silk.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Uschi

    This is a nice idea to learn more about the visitors of a blog and their intentions. Do you mind, I take this idea with me ;-)?

    I create Batiks. I know Shibori as an old japanese technique related with Batik. Is this correct?

    In answer to your questions. I don’t make Shibori and unfortunately I don’t so much about it. Perhaps you would like to write a description, which I would add to my websites (http://www.uschis-batiken.de/batik-kunst/technik) and link to your blog? (I still continue the english version.)

    I live in Stuttgart (Germany). I’m pleased to found your blog and add it already to my blog.

    Like

    Reply
  10. shiborigirl Post author

    Uschi- please feel free to be inspired and learn more about the visitors to your own blog. I did visit there and saw your lovely fun socks but alas, German is a language I don’t speak.

    Yes, shibori is a traditional Japanese textile art dating back to the 8th century. My work with shibori desires to unite traditional techniques and modern aesthetics into pieces that can be used and enjoyed today. I write the blog in an effort to journal my work and communicate with others practicing shibori and other art forms.
    It’s always interesting to hear from others who read this blog and learn from them as well. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

