working…reading…

Just because I haven’t posted this past week doesn’t mean I’m not working. I have been working in larger batches and have not been taking many photos. Tomorrow will be a photo day and a pole wrapping and discharge day. Rainy here so drying is a bit slower. I have several nice itajime pieces to photograph tomorrow.
I like these more and more.
068484914301_ss500_sclzzzzzzz_.jpg
As for reading, I finished Paco Underhill’s books, Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping and The Call of the Mall. Having had two retail stores over the years as well as having done wholesale trade shows for the past 25 years, I realized I had employed many of the ideas he writes about simply out of observation and practicality. As I prepare to do a new set of trade shows, I was reminded of a number of things to pay attention to as I design my booth space. Although I’m not a big shopper myself, I have always enjoyed observing the habits of shoppers/buyers in my stores/booths and figuring out how to make the most of my space by proper merchandising, pathing, signage, and display. I get a real kick out of that for some reason. When I do shop, I really appreciate a good shopping experience, which is getting harder and harder to come by these days.

6 thoughts on “working…reading…

  1. Tricia McKellar

    Pole wrapping and discharge day!!! I’m so jealous! It’s almost 60 degrees here in North Carolina today– which is warmer than most days lately. I can’t wait for warmer weather to dye and discharge on the back deck! Argh– it’s off to the cube farm at the day job for me tomorrow, but I’ll be wishing I was making shibori!

    Like

    Reply
  2. shiborigirl Post author

    Didn’t get to the discharging but got much wrapping and fold & clamping done. Took care of some ordering, form designing, an appointment with a local gallery shop and taking care of my son’s girlfriend who showed up sick with a killer migraine. Life just takes over some days…chicken soup & massage
    As for the book referral, no- I haven’t read that so ordered a used copy off amazon-sounds interesting-thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. jude

    i have been preparing to do some pole wrap and discharge too. i hope to get to it over the weekend. i have prepared some special patchwork to work on( indigo and sulfur dyed black! post more pics and keep me going. i have no idea what i am doing but it is fun fun fun.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

