7 thoughts on “contact shibori girl

  1. Donna Milne

    Hello there, I love your website, totally inspiring , all I was doing was looking for an explanation of shibori but WOW!! As I am on a felting course, this is my main interest at present…I am wondering though if I could try the technique on very fine felt… I shall give it a go. Unfortunately unable to come and see examples ‘ in the flesh’ a great shame because I too love the tactile qualities of all textiles.Thankyou so much for sharing your beautiful works of art. Donna

    Like

    Reply
  2. hrsj

    Glennis- I just looked on your buy shibori page and noticed you have work at Smith Galleries on Hilton Head! That’s my parents’ gallery!! Small world! I’m excited to know that you’re there.
    Heather (at drawing on the walls)

    Like

    Reply
  3. shiborigirl Post author

    wow! small world isn’t it? they wrote an order with me at the ACRE show in Las Vegas. I think they put a ship date of Aug 1 on it so it’s coming up. So that must have been your parents I saw at the show. They were very nice and your mom enjoyed picking out the pieces!

    Like

    Reply
  4. hrsj

    I wondered if ACRE was where they saw you. Yes that was my parents! I’m sure mom did enjoy choosing from your lovely work, she used to be a weaver.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Yoshiko I. Wada

    Glennis,
    I might have missed your contacting me in the past. I apologize if that happened. You must know my publications, Shibori: The Inventive Art of Japanese Shaped Resist Dyeing, and Memory on Cloth: Shibori Now.
    Where do you live?
    We are now planning the 7th ISS in France 11/1-11/2008, events in Provence (natural dyes); Lyon (hisotrical textiles and wearabel art); and Paris (symposium at the Musee du Qaui Branly, international students exhibition and artists’ demonstration at a school).
    MY phone #510-527-3432
    Cheers to you great site.
    Yoshiko

    Like

    Reply
  6. shiborigirl Post author

    Yoshiko-
    Yes I have both your books and return to them often. They are a wonderful resource and an important addition to my understanding of shibori ,both past and present. Thank you.
    I live in Long Beach, Ca.
    I will be in touch with you soon regarding several things including the WSN. I was recently contacted by Andrew and am very interested in your film project. Very exciting stuff!
    Thanks for the info on the 7th ISS. I will post dates and info as it develops.
    mata-ne!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Kathleen Di Vito Keirn

    Glennis,

    Wow!!! Your website is lovely! I will return to it often, so many delicately beautiful items to enjoy and I’m very impressed by your photo of the bee!

    best,
    K

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

