International Quilt Festival

Just back from a quick trip to San Jose (CA) getting a college freshman all set to attend SJSU in August!
With classes scheduled, orientation completed, and a one year lease signed for a room in a shared house (thank you Johnnie for everything including the ride back to the airport!), I think we’re good to go!

A little bit about San Jose. If you’ve never been, it’s a city that’s really growing on me. An active arts community, a great college (SJSU), very convenient public transportation, and a very diverse population. Everyone was very friendly and one of the best things is that it is a very walkable city. One wouldn’t need a car to live here- unlike Los Angeles or Long Beach. I always like that in a city. We flew in and took public transportation from the airport to downtown- $1.75 and about 15 minutes! You can’t really beat that-(except maybe in Portland where as I recall there was a free train from the airport).
Then of course there is the San Jose Quilt and Textile Museum where I stopped off to make a delivery of shibori. They had sold out since my last trip up in May and are now fully restocked! The gift shop has a new manager and the store looks better than ever. I took advantage of the trip and looked at the current exhibition entitled “Beyond Knitting“.
My interest in sculptural forms as well as fiber (and knitting) was satiated by some of the wonderful work in this show. The works-some serious, some humourous, as well as thoughtful with a mastery of technique were a joy to view. A few of my favorites-

Blanka Sperkova
I love her work- reminds me of Ruth Asawa to a point. Beautiful forms, complete thoughts, left me wanting more.

Adrian Sloan’s “Truth to Power”
Her knit human 3D forms were knit in two pieces (back and front) of wire and seamed before being suspended in a fashion that allowed subtle movement as you passed by them. Awesome! She was the co-curator of this exhibit.

Lindsey Obermeyer‘s Weighted Down

I think I’d like to meet Lindsey and have a laugh or two with her. Her sense of humor really shines through her work. I was immediately attracted to this piece-a mohair sweater with the sleeves knit down into large balls that implied being weighted down by the daily stress of life.

Mark Newport‘s collection of “sweatermen” heros.
I would love to see a production bringing these costumes alive!

Having owned a knitting store in the past, I really appreciated this exhibit that took knitting beyond the realm of sweaters and scarves. Go see it!!

Back late last night and today is setup (ready or not!)for the International Quilt Festival here in Long Beach!
See you there- Booth #1353.

2 thoughts on “International Quilt Festival

  1. Lorie

    It’s nice isn’t it to walk, also the weather wouldn’t be too much a factor there. I know what you mean about driving everywhere, that gets tiring. Hope the Quilt fest goes well, wish I could visit!

    Like

    Reply
  2. jeanne, herself

    thanks so much for taking the time to share. it’s like traveling vicariously, getting to go places and see things i would’ve otherwise missed. fun stuff here. can’t wait to hear about IQF.

    Like

    Reply

be in touch and wonder~

